Yesterday, my wife and I went to see Spider-Man: Homecoming. Wow! It is a fun and cheerful movie! We were often laughing at all the comical scenes, and leaning in to focus on the intense action. While I enjoyed the film overall, I want to just state one thing.

Tom Holland is the best portrayal of Spider-Man to date.

From my perspective, Peter Parker is a young teenager who just wants to prove himself to the world. As Parker, he’s nerdy, loves science, is very intelligent, and, well, awkward. He has few friends, has a crush on a girl (no, not always MJ either) and makes his own webbing which is used in cartridges.

All of the above was delivered perfectly in this latest Spidey film. Holland is actually 21 years old, but I was fooled and had believed he was 15-18 years old. In comparison to the prior films, Tobey Maguire was 27 when he first played Spider-Man in 2002, and Andrew Garfield was 29 in 2012.

Spider-Man-Andrew-Garfield-Tom-Holland-and-Tobey-Maguire
(L-R) Andrew Garfield, Tom Holland, and Tobey Maguire

Prior to Holland I liked Garfield because as Spider-Man, he was funny, sarcastic, and had that long, lanky look we know from the comics. It’s just the overall youthful nature and young-sound voice of Holland that really sold Parker / Spider-Man to me.

I’m really looking forward to seeing what Holland does in future Spidey films!

