Starting yesterday, and going until Monday, Overwatch Beta by Blizzard is open to the public to play for free. I downloaded it to my PS4 last night and had a few rounds. I must say, I was quickly sucked in with the play style, character design, unique abilities and most importantly, great fun factor!

This year has been unusually active when it comes to my PS4 game collection. For years, I’ve played one or two games per year. This year it’s been more. I’ve played Fallout 4, Star Wars Battlefront, Battlefield 4, and Call of Duty: Black Ops 3. I’m also still playing Destiny, Mortal Kombat X(L), and The Division. Out of all these games, it’s the most fun I’ve had on the console this year.

This is only the “beta” too. Now, I’ve seen talk on Reddit about Overwatch Beta is not really beta, and this is probably a part of the whole game already, whereas other betas, are truly betas. Even I’ve noticed more glitches and bugs in The Division than I have in Overwatch, which so far, has been one crash. That’s it.

Overwatch vs TF2

I’m going to mention TF2 because I feel someone will ask me this, “Is Overwatch the same as Team Fortress 2 (TF2)?”

Well, I have to admit, I’ve never played TF2. From my own research, I’d say they are similar. Overwatch isn’t like Call of Duty or Battlefield at all, except they’re both first person shooters (FPS). Overwatch is a class-based game. You choose a character/class, and that determines your gun(s) and abilities. Also, the design is more playful. COD and BF try to reenact real life visuals, where Overwatch is much like cartoon anime.

From what I’ve seen in videos and photos, TF2 is also like this, making even more relatable to Overwatch.

hands-on-first-impressions-of-blizzard-s-overwatch-multiplayer-fps-495678-3.jpg

This game suits me.

While I have enjoyed the games I’ve played this year, I’ve played them only a short bit before yawning a little and deciding to trade them in. I’m not getting that same gut feeling with Overwatch at all. I can even say with confidence I can hold my own. I’m not getting gunned down in seconds without ever knowing what hit me.

Here is a clip of one of my recorded matches. FYI, this isn’t my best-played game. However, some guy joined the match with his mic on and made some hilarious sounds.

