Back in September of 2015, I’d written a review, called Chromebook and ChromeOS: My Two Week Trial. I went over my experiences with the Chromebook, which Chromebook I chose, and why I went this route after using OS X since 2004.

20150822_191844

To provide a really short recap, I made the switch from my aging Apple computer and decided to tryout a Chromebook, specifically an Acer Chromebook 11. Well, it has been 6 months now since that review, and I’m pleased to say, I’m still using that same Chromebook now as my one and only “desktop” PC at home.

Small Learning Curve

Luckily for me, it has been quite a small learning curve when it comes to using ChromeOS. Obviously sacrifices were made, such as using Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and Premiere. None of those, at this time, will work on a Chromebook. However, at home, I have not needed to use any of those applications. Whatever I need to get done at home, I can do via the browser – which is all ChromeOS really is.

There have been a handful of times when I could have used OS X or a Windows PC. Those few times though, I just did what needed to be done at work during lunch, or I’d use a family’s PC.

What’s On My Chromebook

I figured one thing I could share here after using the Chromebook for half a year, was what all I have installed on the device.

In case you are not aware, you can install Chrome apps and extensions. Many of these work offline – great for those times when WiFi is not available.

Screenshot 2016-02-23 at 7.57.03 PM.png

Without further adieu, here is my list;

  • AdBlock – Ads support sites, I get it. However, my Chromebook isn’t all that powerful, and I’ve found ads on some sites actually slow down my device. AdBlock has helped out with this.
  • Evernote Web Clipper – I’m a heavy Evernote user, so this just fits right into my workflow. It allows me to save bookmarks, text, screenshots and more from webpages right to my Evernote account.
  • Google Calendar – This adds a really nice, small icon by the URL bar. When you click the icon, you get an agenda shown. It’s quite nice and functional.
  • Google Cast – This could be my most used extension. I can cast whatever I want from a browser tab to my Chromecast on my TV. Very, very useful and reliable.
  • Journey – Journey is a journal app on my Android device. Not too long ago, they’ve added a Chrome app which allows me to add journal entries from the browser. It works just as well as the app.
  • MightyText – Simply said, MightyText is pretty awesome and allows me to write and receive SMS and MMS messages from my Chromebook. You have to have MightyText installed on your Android device first though.
  • Wunderlist – This is my all time favourite listing app. Groceries, to-do’s, reminders… I was pleased to see a Chrome app available!

There are a handful of other apps on my Chromebook too, such as Calculator, Google Docs, etc. However these were all installed already when I got the device.

Six More Months?

For the foreseeable future, I can tell I’ll be using this Acer Chromebook 11 for quite a while yet. It’s doing the job for me, and doing it well. Heck, I’m using it right now to write this article! I really enjoy using this device.

 

