Since roughly 2009, I was playing the Call of Duty series almost nonstop during my gaming time. The discs barely left my PS3 for another game to take over. Eventually, the novelty wore off. Modern Warefare 2 was excellent, but the sequel’s never quite seemed to keep up. At least not for me.

When Destiny was released in late 2014, I’d stop playing Call of Duty all together, and the same goes for Battlefield, another favoured first-person shooter game. Destiny lasted right up until recently, when quite a few friends and family members picked up Call of Duty: Black Ops 3.

I decided I really want to game alongside these guys, so I scoured Kijiji and found someone willing to do a straight trade – Black Ops 3 for Witcher 3. Some may feel I got ripped off, but I just wasn’t playing that game.

Call of Duty®: Black Ops III Multiplayer Beta_20150819022341
Call of Duty®: Black Ops III 

I’ve been playing Black Ops 3 now for just over a week, and wow, colour me impressed. This really feels both like home where I once engulfed myself in the Call of Duty realm, yet, it has a lot of new features that are taking me time to learn. Plus, for me, the cool aspect is huge now.

I can double jump, and also run along walls.

I know from reading forums, reviews, and Reddit, Call of Duty was becoming a recycled mess year after year. This go-around seems to have abolished all of that. I understand I had taken a break from this game, but still, it feels very refreshed.

If you happen to be like me and you’re wondering if the game is worth picking up, I would certainly recommend it. It’s a lot of fun.

Here’s a recording of one of my better matches.

