20150811_121528

Well, it didn’t take long after picking up the WeMo Light Switch that I managed to get a WeMo LED Lighting Starter Set (and one extra bulb).

I’d heard this was on sale at Best Buy, and after mentioning it to my wife, she then gave this to me as a gift for our wedding anniversary (which is today!). What a gal!

Installation was fairly quick and easy. I’d already installed the WeMo app on my phone and my wife’s phone. So all I needed to do was screw in the light bulbs (in my case, three lamps in my living room), plug in the controller to an outlet, and add the devices within my app.

The lights do not change colour like the Philips Hue lights, but they do dim, and are very bright (equivalent to 60W!). Years ago, I’d never have imagined LED lights to ever reach this brightness. It’s incredible.

Screenshot_2015-08-12-19-27-48

The WeMo app, as I mention in my prior post, needs work. When it comes to using your devices after setup, it does the job perfectly well for me. However, setup was a pain, as the app crashed on me 2-3 times. I sent crash reports, don’t worry. The app also lacks a current design, as there is no material design at all, and it looks quite dated. It mirrors what is out for iOS, so it could be a port of some sort for all I know.

IFTTT (now just called IF) integration has been working great for me for both the LED lights and my WeMo Light Switch. I have several “recipes” created and they’re trigged via Tasker and AutoVoice. Just yesterday I managed to setup the ability to say, “Turn on door light” and watch my light turn on a few moments later. Slick!

I’ll write up another post sometime to talk about how I’ve done the automation with IFTTT, Tasker, and AutoVoice.

