After using Android for a few months now, I decided one of the next steps I’d take was installing a new launcher. For those who don’t know, lunchers can change how the phone looks and feels when it comes to your home screen(s), dock, and app drawer.

I took an evening and tried about 6 different launchers that are all free. My favourite ended up being Apex Launcher. It works great on both my Galaxy Nexus and Asus Transformer Pad TF300T.

To give an overview of what it does, here’s a video I found that demos the app.

The tablet version is very much the same as the phone version. I haven’t found any real differences. What I have noticed is moving between screens is smoother on my GNexus than the Asus TF300T. However, my Asus also has a lot more widgets and icons per screen. I’ll probably continue to tweak it further. Maybe I’ll even knock it back from 5 windows to just 3.

FYI, both my devices are on Jelly Bean 4.1 and neither have compatibility issues!

