Image from swype.com

Every second person you speak to with an Android seemed to be using this crazy keyboard called Swype. So I figurd, why not? May as well give it a shot.

Despite being identified constantly as a beta, and the fact it is not a download straight from Google Play, this app passed as what I considered to be a safe app to install on my precious Galaxy Nexus. It was a very process, and you just follow the steps as given from Swype’s install page.

Image from swype.com

I installed it last night on my phone and the whole thing took maybe 5 minutes at most. If I had to reinstall it for whatever reason, I could see it taking even less time since I’ve been through the steps.

Through the day I’ve been using it. Facebook updates, Twitter updates, G+, texting, a few emails… I have to say, with a little more practice, I can certainly see myself writing faster than I would with the touch keyboard. And more surprisingly, I may even be faster than when I had my BlackBerry!

I admit, I didn’t see that one coming.

I’ll attach one of their demo videos to give you an idea what it’s about:

I’d also like to point out that the latest version of Swype is working on Jelly Bean, 4.1.1.
